The History and Architecture of Trinity Church

The Holy Trinity Church sits on the North Terrace in Adelaide City, bringing a historic and impressive architectural slant to the surroundings. The Anglican church is the largest in terms of attendance in the South of Australia, and offers four busy services every Sunday as well as various other meetings throughout the week.

The History of Trinity Church

Trinity Church is different to the majority of other churches in this part of Australia because it still retains elements of the earliest surviving Anglican church building in the South of the country. You can see this particularly in the William IV window that was bought across to Adelaide in 1836.

During its development stage, the church was built in three separate parts. To start with, it was decided that the church would be a prefabricated building from England. However, the building arrived damaged and the idea had to be rethought. Instead, it was agreed that it would be built with stone and in, 1838, Governor Hindmarsh laid the very first foundation stone. The church itself opened later that year and quickly became a landmark. It’s most defining features, a “peaked cap” top tower and the Vulliamy clock made it a unique addition to the newly settled Adelaide city.

In 1844, six years after it was originally built, the church was closed for repairs. During this time, the clock was removed to keep it safe, while the entire body of the church was re-built and re-roofed. It was during this stage of development that the church lost its “peaked cap” before it re-opened again in 1845.

It wasn’t until four decades after it was originally built, in 1878, that there was a new proposal to rebuild when some money was given to the project. Nothing happened, however, until the mid-1880s when the congregation met and completely rebuilt the church to a design that was put forward by famous architect Edward John Woods. His plans included using mellow sandstone, which eventually weathered enough to resemble the original limestone from the first two stages of development.

It was around this time that the name “Holy Trinity” was given to the church.

Today, visitors can marvel at the impressive architecture on the outside, or venture in to explore the rectory and the hall, which was built in 1887 thanks to a donation from a parishioner. The church forms an important part of Adelaide City and remains a stalwart part of the landscape.